My ADAPTATION of Bulgarian Method – everyday squat example

MY ADAPTATION OF BULGARIAN METHOD

Bulgarian Method requires me to squat  say- 2x a day… not an easy task at the beginning…
I started everyday squats since my Weightlifting Seminar with John Broz – descendant of Bulgarian School. I have started going heavy bit too quick. Had to take my time. Tendonitis and such … different story if a beginner starts like that, but I was already very strong so it was too much.

BROZ

After that I stepped back , recovered knee pain and started building weights slowly. With lighter days. Morning very light  Olympic lifts and some squatting with baby weights in my bedroom, up to 1/3 of afternoon weights. Then afternoon heavier session in the gym.

For instance I have a minimum to do 140kg x3 reps in squat – this is when i feel like shit. If I feel average i would do 160kg x3 squats. as a refrence my  max power clean was 140- this is  how I estabilished those values…  If I feel normal i made myself a rule that I can go for no more than 5kg more than last time.
for example day by day it would looked like that:
140
145
150
155
160
165
160- means 140 felt OK, but 160 felt like shit
140
day off – unplanned
170 – notice +5kg from recent peak
175
160 means 140 felt OK, but 160 felt like shit
180
day off – unplanned
185

and so on  – 3 reps every day, of course there are warm ups, like on the last day
60×5
80×4
100×3
120×3
140×3
160×3
180×1-3
185×3

It is just one of the exercises of the day of course, but if you find Bulgarian or Sheiko systems too demanding, you can adapt my example, in relation to your power clean.

WORKS WELL FOR ME SO FAR.

Good Luck !

Leave a comment